Feeling Your Best While Traveling

So right now we are traveling. We have driven 870  miles in the last three weeks. It comes with the job.

Because we are Americans living in Mexico, we have the responsibility of obtaining the correct paperwork for us to stay legally in Mexico and drive our American vehicle in Mexico.

When traveling it is easy to jump off track and lose sight of your exercise and healthy eating goals. We all do it…mindless snacking in the car, leaving to early to work out,  picking up fast food, because we don’t want to plan/pack healthy snacks, stopping for a frappuccino because we’ve convinced ourselves we need an afternoon pick-me-up.

Subway

I’ve been there… arriving at my destination feeling sluggish, tired, motivationless (is that a word), and just plain crummy.

Here are some things I’ve since learned to keep myself energized and feeling good, even on long travel days.

Get enough sleep – the night before a long trip make sure you plan ahead to get the amount of sleep that your body needs for the day. This will keep you alert while driving, and keep your brain sharp to make healthy decisions throughout the day.

Eat a healthy, protein-rich breakfast – if you don’t have much time in the morning, mix up some raw oats, milk, protein powder, chia seeds, and cinnamon in a tupperware container the night before and put in the fridge. In the morning top with fruit, or nuts and enjoy in the car. Some other quick options:  a protein smoothie with fruit, protein powder, and nut butter, plain yogurt with fresh fruit and nuts, a couple hard-boiled eggs and piece of string cheese, or even a slice of toast with nut butter and banana. All portable, and take less than 5 minutes to put together.

Pack a cooler with healthy snacks/meal options – I have a small cooler that I always bring on road trips. It is filled with veggie sticks, fruit, sandwiches, nuts and dried fruit, hummus, cheese, hard-boiled eggs, pre-cooked chicken breasts, small salads, etc. It is much easier to grab something healthy when you are hungry when it is literally right there…you don’t even have to stop the car.

Drink lots of water – I know, you’ll have to pee. But, peeing is good, it helps your body detoxify itself. Being dehydrated is not good. So even though you may make more bathroom stops, at the end of the day you will feel better.

Make healthy meal choices when eating out – When needing to grab food on the run one of the best choices you can make is stopping at a grocery store. You can pick up a few of the cooler staples from above, and instantly you have a healthy meal. If you find yourself at a restaurant choose something light so you don’t feel weighted down afterwards. Some good choices would be broth based soups, fresh green salads with protein, or veggie-full sandwiches made on whole grain breads with mustard or hummus (hold the mayo), or grilled lean meat with veggies.

Get moving– When I travel I try to do some form of exercise everyday. It could be a run or walk in the morning before you leave, or a quick strength circuit at a nearby park once you’ve reached your destination. If you have a long travel day, use your potty stops to do some energizing moves like lunges, squats, pushups, and jumping jacks in the parking lot, or walk a few laps around the gas station.

During my time at my destination I plan ahead to exercise at least 20-30 minutes everyday. To make sure I get my workout in I wake up early, and get my sweat onto start the day.  Here are some ways you can do the same:

– Look at your hotel online and check out their gym facilities, plan a few gym workouts to do.

– If your hotel doesn’t have a gym, or you are staying with family or friends, plan some workouts you can do in your hotel room, at a local park, or even in the hotel parking lot. Here’s a parking lot workout to try.

Tree in a Parking Lot

– Map out any local parks or area trails that might make good running or walking spots. Plan to visit a few of them.

– If you like working out in a gym, google local gyms in the area and see if you can purchase a week trial pass to use the facilities there.

– Maximize time with family/friends by exercising together. Lift weights with your brother,  take a fitness class with a friend, or get your chat on during a long walk with your Mom.

– When I travel I pack my workout notebook. This notebook has a collection of my favorite travel workouts that require no equipment and can be done anywhere. That way I always have a few workouts at my finger tips=no excuses. 🙂

See it’s simple. No more excuses to fall behind on your health and fitness goals while traveling.

Tomorrow check back for a few of my favorite travel workouts, and one of my favorite ways to use garbanzo beans…hummus!

Have a fabulous Friday!

2 thoughts on “Feeling Your Best While Traveling

    • My workout notebook is just a simple “Five Star” notebook that I bought from Walmart. Every Sunday I usually sit down for an hour or so and plan my workouts for the week, what muscles I want to train what days, if I want to do circuits, cardio, whatever. Then when I really like a workout, I star or highlight it for future use. The notebook helps because my workouts are more efficient if they are planned out, and if I don’t have time to plan I have an arsenal of great workouts at my fingertips. In the future I’ll try to do a post on my workout notebook.
      Chia seeds, ( http://www.eatingbirdfood.com/2011/08/why-eat-chia-seeds/) this link has a great article on them and their health benefits.

Leave a Reply

