Going Home + A New Workout

Tomorrow we begin our 20+ hour drive back home.

Things are packed, mail has been sent, phone calls have been made to family. Now we’re going home.

IMG_0016

Home, ah…how I miss thee. The routine, my bed, cooking in my own kitchen, my Las Moras friends, and my gato…poor little chap has been holding down the fort since we left three weeks ago. Someone has been checking in on him every three days or so, but it’s nothing like the snuggles he’s used to.

P1080104

Raise the roof!

It will be good to be home.

We’ve made some fun purchases for the next couple months though. I’m always up for trying new things, especially anything coconut. Ever seen this goodness before?

IMG_0014

Pure coconut sap with a little honey, yes please! It’s really good on salad, but that’s the only way I’ve tried it so far. And of course some good dark chocolate for those rainy months out in the mountains.

Anyone tried any of these before?

Sometimes it’s hard buying supplies for four months at a time, and fun things just sneak into the cart. 🙂 Ok, what was I actually going to talk about, oh yes…

Staying on track with your eats and workouts is hard when traveling. Your daily schedule is always different, you often don’t have access to equipment, or a gym, you’re tired after spending late nights with family or friends, and the list goes on. I know I’m feeling a little softer after being away from my weights and my kitchen, and I’m ready to get back at it and set some new fitness and diet goals for the coming months. What about you?

As I’ve mentioned in other posts I always carry my fitness journal with me when I travel. It’s full of some of my favorite body weight workouts and travel workouts that I can do anywhere. It has come in handy this trip and I’ve even had some time to create a few new circuit style workouts.

This past week we were attending a workshop on theories and analysis of language and communication from 9am to 5pm. Brain.on.overload.
Because of the schedule I committed to getting up early and getting in a workout every single morning. It gave me great energy throughout the day, even though the temperatures are above 100 degrees daily right now in Mexico.

So, I thought I’d share my favorite circuit workout from the week with you! I hope you’ll try it, and if you love it, write it down in your workout journal and take it with you next time you travel.

Heart Pumping Circuit

Notes:

  • I did the squat thruster, weighted plie squat, and the weighted deadlift and row with a 10liter jug full of water. This was the only weight I had. If you have access to weights great, if not, use anything a laundry detergent bottle, a heavy duffle bag, just something that adds extra resistance.
  • Here are video links to some of the exercises you may not already be familiar with.
  • Skaters
  • Squat thrusters
  • Weight plie squat
  • Diamond pushups – with jack means after you push up, jump your feet out and then back in like a floor jumping jack
  • Supermans
  • Decline pushups
  • The side shuffle is a slide to the side moving both feet, like you are playing basketball, and touch the floor. Then side shuffle to the other side, and touch.

Let me know if you try it!

Questions: Do you workout when you travel? Why or why not? What type of exercise do you do while traveling?

Leave a Reply

