Pizza Margherita w/ Almond Flour Crust

Hey guys! That is such a mid-western greeting…

It’s Thursday, the weekend is almost here! How has your week been? Did you try my Isolation Inferno workout yet? My legs felt whipped afterwards, but I also noticed that my posture felt better? Interesting.

Things have been literally quite “dreary” here in Las Moras. We are dead smack in the middle of our rainy season, which means, it rains almost every single day, and often we spend an entire day caught in the middle of the clouds. As in you literally cannot see 40 feet past your front door. It’s weird. Like nothing that I ever experienced growing up in Wisconsin, but it does have a beauty all it’s own.

This kind of weather makes me crave soup something fierce. And I LOVE soup. I could seriously eat soup every single day. Well, maybe with a salad thrown in here and there, but you get the point.

However, I know it’s July. Most of my readers are experiencing blazing temps, and are craving summer recipes! So…how about a slice of pizza?

My favorite pizza of all time is the Pizza Margherita. The best I’ve ever had was here. Thin crispy crust, rich tomato sauce, fresh slices of juicy, ripe tomatoes, blanketed with fresh mozzarella and lush green basil leaves…yeah, I know…I had you at the word pizza. And I hope you love my version or this classic!

Note: While I’m not gluten-intolerant, I enjoy experimenting with different flours to add variety to our diet. My version of the Pizza Margherita features an almond flour crust, but feel free to substitute your favorite pizza crust recipe. Also, make sure you buy fresh mozzarella for this pizza. 

Pizza Margherita 
** You can go all out and make your own marinara sauce for this pizza if you want to. Frankly, I don’t have much time to do that right now. But, when I do, I love to make my own sauce. Maybe sometime I’ll post the family recipe. 😉

Ingredients

CRUST:
1 1/2 cups almond flour (not almond meal)
1/4 cup oat flour
1/2 cup arrowroot powder, or potato starch
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. sea salt
1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
2 tsp. granulated garlic
1 tsp. dried oregano
1 Tbsp. dried basil
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
2 flax eggs (2Tbsp. ground flax + 6 Tbsp. water, stir & let sit for 10 minutes)
**substituting two regular eggs would work as well
TOPPINGS:
1 1/4 cups Marinara Sauce (some people like more sauce, some less, make it how you like it)
2 medium roma tomatoes, sliced thin
6oz. fresh mozzarella (mine was in a weird roll out thing, that’s why I cut it in squares for the pizza)
20 fresh basil leaves

???????????????????????????????

To make the crust:
Preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Then mix together your flax eggs. Measure 2 Tbsp ground flax seed in a small bowl, add 6 Tbsp water, stir and let sit for 10 minutes.
Next, mix together the flours, arrowroot, baking powder, and spices in a medium mixing bowl. Add your oil and flax eggs and stir together until the dough comes together in a ball.
Place the ball of dough on a parchment paper covered cookie sheet, (or you could use a silicone baking sheet) and spread out with your hands to make a circle or a rectangle. Press from the middle out to make sure your crust is even all the way around.

???????????????????????????????
I pressed my crust pretty thin because that’s how I like it, but feel free to leave it thicker if you like thicker crust pizza and add to your baking time.
Once your oven reaches temperature, bake your crust for about 20 minutes, longer if you choose to leave your crust thick.

Once the crust has finished baking remove it from the oven. Spread sauce evenly over the crust and then layer the toppings evenly over the sauce. First the tomato slices, then cheese, and last the basil leaves.

???????????????????????????????

This is the sauce that I used. It was good, not as good as homemade, but good. 🙂

???????????????????????????????
Put the pizza back in the oven and bake for about another 20 minutes. Let cool a minute or two, and slice using a pizza cutter or a large chef knife.
My crust was thin enough I was able to get 10 pieces of pizza. This would serve 5 at 2 pieces each.

Serve your Pizza Margherita with a crisp salad dressed with balsamic vinegar and olive oil. Enjoy!!

???????????????????????????????

This crust was outstanding! I loved it. It had the perfect amount of spice, and crispness to it. And the husband totally approved of this pizza and he’s much more of a pizza fanatic than I am.

Let me know if you try this recipe, and I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Questions: What is your favorite kind of pizza? Do you prefer thin crust, or thick?
My favorite pizza would be Margherita, or anything loaded with veggies. I love mushrooms on pizza. And I would choose super thin crust any day.

~ Liesl

Leave a Reply

