Healthy Vegetarian Fried Rice

Fried rice is one of those foods that I like, a lot actually, but I never order it when I’m out for Chinese, even though it always sounds good.

I know that a small side of brown rice with my entree is a much healthier choice. And while I’m all for the theory that small indulgences here and there are good, and can possibly help us stick with our healthy lifestyle longer, I would rather save my “indulgences” for goodness like ice cream or anything smothered in peanut butter and chocolate.

So, when Pete said he was in the mood for something Asian, fried rice immediately came to mind. We’ve been in the land of no grocery store for almost six weeks now, so the veggie supply is running quite low, and the few I do have left, were definitely fried rice material.

This “healthy” version of Vegetarian Fried Rice is tasty and would make a great family meal. We enjoyed it eaten with chopsticks in front of one of our favorite movies on a stormy night.

???????????????????????????????

Healthy Vegetarian Fried Rice

3 tsp. sesame oil
3 eggs, beaten
2 Tbsp. milk
Salt & Pepper

1/2 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, sliced
2 carrots, whole sliced
1/2 zucchini, halved and sliced
1/3 small head green cabbage, shredded thin
1 cup mushrooms, sliced (I used canned, it was all I had)
10 basil leaves, chopped
3 Tbsp. braggs liquid aminos, or tamari
1 Tbsp. coconut aminos
2 tsp. siracha hot sauce
1/4 tsp. ginger
3 cups brown rice, cooked (I like Trader Joes brown basmati rice)

Heat 1 tsp of the sesame oil in a small skillet over medium heat. Beat the eggs and milk together in a bowl. Sprinkle in some pepper and salt. Once the oil is hot pour the egg mixture into the skillet, and cover. Let cook until the eggs are starting to set in the middle, like a large egg pancake. Taking a spatula, slide it gentle under the egg pancake and flip it. Cook through. Remove the eggs from the pan and set aside on a plate.

???????????????????????????????

Heat the remaining 2 tsp. of sesame oil in a large skillet. Chop the onion, garlic, and carrots, and add together to the hot oil.

???????????????????????????????

Stir fry for about 6 minutes until they are getting tender. Meanwhile chop the cabbage and zucchini, and then add them to the pan with the onion mixture. Stir fry for several minutes, until all the veggies are tender. (Yes..that is mold on the cabbage. I cut it off, I assure you.)

???????????????????????????????

Next chop the mushrooms (if using fresh add them to the mixture with the cabbage). Also chop the egg pancake into bite size pieces.

???????????????????????????????

Finally add the canned mushrooms, egg pieces, braggs, coconut aminos, siracha, ginger, and basil. Cook for another 1-2 minutes until everything is hot.

Then add the cooked brown rice to the skillet with all the veggies. Mix well. Cook another 2-3 minutes until everything is hot and well coated with sauce.

???????????????????????????????

Yum, it looks so good I want to make it again!
Serve with chopsticks and more siracha for those whole love spice.

???????????????????????????????

Question:
What is your favorite ethnic food to eat out? What would you order?

My favorite ethnic food to eat out would probably be Indian or Greek.
If I was out for Indian I would order Bangan Bhurta or Channa Masala and if I was out for Greek I would have stuffed grape leaves…yum!

2 thoughts on “Healthy Vegetarian Fried Rice

  1. This sounds amazing! I love fried rice as well, but rarely do we have it. I think it will have to go on the menu for next week!

    • Hey Sarah! I hope you’ll try it.
      Besides a little bit of chopping it’s super easy, and I love to eat it with chopsticks…it transfers me to a little asian world all my own. 🙂 Hope you guys are doing awesome!

Leave a Reply

