Superfood Bites + Link-ables

It’s Wednesday, how’s your week been going?

Pete picked up a nasty stomach bug + fever Monday night, which meant I was outside emptying and cleaning buckets at 1am. (We don’t have running water inside) Since then I’ve been washing my hands like a fiend in hopes that I don’t come down with the same thing. Okay, I know TMI.

Actually an interesting fact about me is that I hardly ever get fevers. I haven’t had a fever since I was a little girl, at least that I remember. Maybe my Mom can correct me on that one. I’m not sure why, it just seems that even when I’m sick my body temperature is low. Some say my heart is cold…:)

All that to say, I hope everyone is in good health in your family this week!

This past weekend I was thinking about all my friends that have kids going back to school, and how hard it can be to think of healthy quick breakfasts, lunches, and snacks that kids will eat and like.

On Saturday I threw together these easy superfood bites, that are filled with wholesome ingredients, and take about 5 minutes to make. I think they’d make a great after school snack during homework time, or for a boost of energy before soccer or dance class. And they won’t even know that they have beans in them!
If you try them let me know what your kids think!

SUPERFOOD BITES

???????????????????????????????

3/4 cup chickpeas, cooked
1/4 cup ground flax seed
1/2 cup whole, unsalted almonds
1/2 cup dates
1/4 cup unsweetened, shredded coconut
1/8 cup hemp seed

Put the almonds in your food processor and process until finely ground. Next add the flax, coconut, and hemp seed and pulse 2 or 3 times to mix. Then add the chickpeas and dates. Pulse the mixture until it comes together into a ball like dough. If the dough is too crumbly add a touch of water.
Remove the superfood dough from the food processor and roll into balls. Makes about 14 “normal” size bites.

Nutritional Info per bite:
Calories/85  Fat/5g Carbs/8g Protein/3g Sugar/4g

**Tip– I have also used dried cranberries in place of the dates, but needed to add 1 tsp. of honey to help the dough come together and add a little more sweetness. These also freeze well, if you make a double batch. 

Looking for some links to lurk over lunch (say that 10 times fast) check these out!

STYLE – I don’t really know what my “style” is anymore, but these mason jar finds are totally cute and vintage

GLUTEN FREE – love almond flour, can’t wait to try these! They look like they would be yummy with a veggie burger.

FOOD PREP – my language helper when I was learning Spanish used to do this. She would buy the peppers when they were on sale, and then have them for months to come, it was a great idea. (Mom, your poblanos, hint hint)

SEPT SUN – make your own natural sunscreen for those last days at the beach before fall hits.

ASIAN FLAVORthis salad looks fresh, and just in time for my edamame to be ready in the garden.

SHOP SMART – what you should really know about reading food labels.

CHOCAHOLIC – these raw brownie bites look like an amazing clean treat!

NEW SCENT – I’ve been wearing the same perfume since college…I know…pathetic. I’m coveting this Maddie & Sophie Essence (Christmas maybe?)

GET FIT – don’t have much time and looking for a quick cardio blast? Try this burpee challenge:

BURPEE CHALLENGE 
(*set your timer for 11 rounds of 40sec on/20sec rest)

???????????????????????????????

BURPEES – 40s go/20s rst
(Squat down, jump feet back into pushup position, jump feet forward to your hands and jump up in the air)
PLANK JACK BURPEES – 40s go/20s rst
(in pushup position jump your feet out and back in then jump forward and up into the air)
COMPETITION BURPEES – 40s go/20s rst
(squat down, jump back to pushup position, drop your body down to the floor, jump feet up to hands and into the air)
BURPEE w/PUSHUP – 40s go/20 rst
(normal burpee with a pushup completed in the pushup position before jumping)
BURPEE w/TUCK JUMP – 40s go/20 rst
(normal burpee, but when you jump in the air bring your knees to your chest in a tuck position)

*Rest 1 minute, repeat 1-2xs more.

Here’s to a good rest of the week, work hard, eat well, live life with energy!

Liesl

Leave a Reply

