Eats & Fitness – 9.1

Happy Labor Day weekend!!

What kind of fun shenanigans have you all been up to? I know Labor Day weekend is kind of deemed the last hurrah of summer…hope it’s going awesome.

So, I don’t know about you, but I’m super excited for fall!

We don’t really have “fall” here in Mexico. At least not the fall that I know and love. The leaves don’t change color, the air doesn’t blow its cool crispness through our living room windows, there are no fresh, tart apples; honeycrisps are my favorite, and pumpkin, you’ve hit a gold mine if you find it in the store, and you had better stock up if you do. And football season…we can keep up with it online, but it’s just not the same.

I miss Wisconsin the most in the fall.

Source

But who says you can’t MAKE fall, am I right? My mother-in-law gave me a cute little fall table runner, and the spicy, warm fall scented candles are my favorite, so I may or may not have an arsenal of them.  And pumpkin…my pantry is never without.

So, now that it’s “officially” September, I’m looking forward to sharing some fall goodness with you guys in the way of a few recipes that I’ve been experimenting with. 🙂  The plan is to flood my kitchen with the smells of sage, rosemary, thyme, cinnamon, and nutmeg just to name a few of my favorite fall spices; and pumpkin…there will be pumpkin.

Here is what’s simmering in my kitchen this week:

Meal Ideas:

Savory Pumpkin Polenta Lasagna
Stir-fried Coconut Cabbage & White Beans
Salsa Verde Chicken Burgers
Toasted Autumn Millet Salad
Salmon & Spinach filled Crepes

And a few little treats…

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Coffee Cake
Pumpkin Spice Lattes (healthier and tastier than Starbucks)

Source

Also for the month of September I’m planning to get a little more structured with my fitness routine. After all this is my last month to shape up for the beach in October!

The plan is to mix up my strength training on alternating weeks.

It will look a little like this:

Week 1: Full Body Workout (3 days, non-consecutive days), Running (3 days), + HIIT & Core mixed in
Week 2: Strength Upper Body (2 days) + Strength Lower Body (2 days) + Running (3 days) + Core
Week 3: Full Body Workout (3 days, non-consecutive days), Running (3 days), + HIIT & Core mixed in
Week 4: Strength Upper body (2 days) + Strength Lower Body (2 days) + Running (3 days) + Core

I’ll be doing my best to post a few of my workouts so you can join in the fun if you want to!

WEEK 1 –   September 2 – 8
Monday – Cardio Steady State (45 min total)
Tuesday – Full Body Workout #1 + Plank Out Core Challenge
Wednesday – Cardio HIIT/Steady (20 min HIIT intervals + 10min warm up and cool down)
Thursday – Full Body Workout #1 + Burpee Challenge
Friday – Cardio Steady w/ Speed at the End (30 min steady/ pick up your speed for the last 5min)
Saturday – Full Body Workout #1 + Ab burner
Sunday: OFF/or some type of low impact recovery (yoga, walking, etc.)

Your Turn: What do you look forward to about fall? Why?

Happy Fall!!

Liesl

Leave a Reply

