Harvest Spice Protein Balls

Smart snacking…we all intend to do it, but sometimes the best intentions are short lived.

I find that I snack smarter when I am prepared. When I have snacks available at a moments notice that are healthy, nutritious, and that I think are delicious and will want to eat. 🙂

Every weekend I try to make two different snacks that Pete and I can munch all week, but that are quick, that we can grab on the way out the door to hold us over to lunch or dinner, or whatever the case may be.

In the spirit of fall I recently created these tasty little morsels…Pete said they might be one of his favorite versions of protein balls that I have ever made. Need I say more.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

Harvest Spice Protein Balls

DRY:
½ cup rolled oats
½ cup popped amaranth
¼ cup shredded coconut, unsweetened
¼ cup vanilla protein powder
1 ½ t pumpkin pie spice
sea salt

WET:
2 T pumpkin puree
1 T coconut butter
1 T almond butter
2 T dried cranberries (or other dried fruit)

Add your dry ingredients to the food processor and pulse a few times until they are blended and the oats are broken up a bit. Next add the pumpkin and coconut butter. Pulse until the dough starts to come together, then add the almond butter and pulse a few more times. (The dough should be clumping now)
Lastly add the cranberries 1 T at a time, and pulse until chopped and mixed in. Your protein ball dough should be coming together now, but not be too sticky.

Roll the dough into balls and store in the fridge. Makes about 8 balls. Each ball has 5g of protein, only 90 calories, and 2g of sugar! I’d say that’s a winner of a snack!

What’s your go to healthy snack? What is your favorite healthy snack to make?
My go to healthy snack is a homemade protein bar, or veggies and hummus. But I love baking healthy things too, it just takes more time that I often don’t have. 🙂

Liesl

Leave a Reply

