Eats & Fitness – 11.17

We had our pig, Otis, castrated this weekend. He squealed like I used to as the youngest girl in the family when my brothers would barge into my room unannounced. However, his life has been altered much more than mine was at the time. 🙂 He is now on his way to becoming fatter, and the most organic-ish pig in the village. We gave him extra scraps yesterday…it was hard day.

IMG_0632 copy

All our Nahuatl friends want to come and help us eat him, but he may not be as delicious as the poop-eating, free range pork that they are used to. Just a day in the life of a gal living in a tribal village.

What’s going on at your place this weekend?

I also did some hair trimming. Their parents kept talking about how the girls would be walking around bald…not sure what they thought I was going to do. 🙂

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

This little man just watched. Cutie pie.

We’ve again been blanketed by clouds here in the Mexican Sierra that have also brought some rain, and living off the grid with solar power as our electric source means there hasn’t been much online time for this girl this week. I usually check the web for new recipe inspiration, so I was flying solo as I menu planned for the coming week. Even though I do have some pretty amazing cookbooks that I consult often for ideas.

And in fun news: the hubby put up a new light bulb for me in the kitchen today! So excited, it’s right above where I do most of my food prep. Yeah, for men learning to be handy. 🙂

So here’s what we’ll be munching on this week:

image

Main Meal Ideas:

Mexican Pie

Roasted Zucchini Stuffing

White Bean, Bacon, & Rosemary Soup w/Pumpkin cornbread

Smoked Trout Millet Burgers & Edamame (recipe will be up tomorrow)

Sundried tomato & basil omelets

Weekend prep: pressure beans (using this method), pre-cut zucchini, shell edamame, make snacks:

Gingerbread Snack Bars & Spicy Quinoa Clusters (recipes in process)
And…some Pumpkin Pie Granola! Yum!

Tentative Fitness Plan:

Monday: 6s Leg Burner Workout

Tuesday: Run + Sprints & 6 min Fab Abs

Wednesday: active rest day – walk or yoga & 6 min Fab Abs

Thursday: Run (HIIT intervals) & 6 Min Fab Abs

Friday: Total Body Workout

Saturday: Upper Body + Quick Tabata

Sunday: Run – longer run day + 10 min booty burner (stay tuned for this)

I’m mixing up my routine a little bit this week. I’ve been digging a mid-week rest day as my week days are the busiest, and I’ve been wanting to start running a little longer once a week. I’m thinking this schedule will work a lot better, but we’ll see…this week will be the test run. And Sunday is pancake day, who doesn’t love pancakes after a run?! Sounds like a match made in heaven.

What’s new on your fitness plan this week? What is working for you? Let me know I love new ideas.

And is anyone making their Thanksgiving menu yet? Can’t wait to hear what you are making! I’m experimenting with a veggie cornbread stuffing this week. Mostly because one can never have enough stuffing.

Happy Weekending!

Liesl

Leave a Reply

