Spicey Gingerbread Power Bars

First of all, sorry about the last post. I have no idea why it self posted. I’ve just started working with a new app on my Ipad and I’m guessing I pressed something. I will be posting about my favorite packable workout gear, but I haven’t finished the post yet, so sorry for the false alarm.

Now on to more important things. 🙂

I made a holiday gingerbread version of my nut and seed bars. And, they are everything I hoped they would be.

20131208-183131.jpg

These make a delicious healthy snack or treat with loads of sweet, spicy, gingerbread flavor. They remind me of the iced gingerbread clif bars, only healthier and without icing…and you could totally make icing if you wanted to. 😉

Tip: You could even cut these bigger and eat them for breakfast with a boiled egg, or some greek yogurt.

GINGERBREAD POWER BARS

3/4 c almond flour/meal
3/4 c pecans, chopped fine
1/2 c popped amaranth
1/4 c pumpkin seeds
1/4 c shredded unsweetened coconut
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cloves
1/4 tsp sea salt
8 dried prunes, chopped

1/4 c extra virgin coconut oil, melted
1/4 c applesauce, unsweetened
1/4 c pumpkin puree
1/4 c organic molasses
2 eggs
1/8 c water

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Melt the coconut oil, applesauce, pumpkin, and molasses in a small sauce pan. Set aside to cool slightly.
In a medium bowl mix together your dry ingredients including the prunes.

20131211-182255.jpg
Add the wet mixture to the dry ingredients along with the eggs and water. Stir everything until just well mixed.

20131211-182311.jpg

Pour mixture into the lightly greased 8×8 baking dish. And bake for about 25-30 minutes.

Note: These would make a tasty + healthy addition to the Christmas cookie plate. I recommend them with a steaming mug of your favorite hot tea, or cider.

Enjoy by a warm fire!

Liesl

Leave a Reply

