Creamy Roasted Asparagus Soup

When I was a girl asparagus grew wild along the roadside, and we had a huge patch of it in our garden. I did not love it. I think I had some mushy asparagus once and it threw me off.

Now that I’m an adult with a less picky palate I thoroughly enjoy asparagus. In fact sometimes I even crave it. My favorite way to eat it is simply roasted with a sprinkling of olive oil, salt and pepper. MMMmmm…
However if you actually find asparagus here in Mexico, you are about as lucky as the average person in Vegas…not very.

So when I saw asparagus at the store this past week I ignored the hefty price tag, put a bunch in my cart, and quickly walked away before I changed my mind. I wanted to use the asparagus in at least two meals, and this recipe is one of those creations.

With winter nights upon us I’ve been craving soup like nobody’s business. This soup is a simple blend of roasted green veggies, fresh herbs, and coconut milk. It is most delicious eaten with freshly baked millet bread as you watch the Christmas tree lights flicker.

Creamy Roasted Asparagus Soup

1 bunch of asparagus, washed & halved
1 small poblano pepper, seeded & halved
1 medium zucchini, cubed
olive oil, salt & pepper

1 medium onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, diced
1 c water
fresh basil (about 10-12 leaves)
3-4 sprigs fresh thyme
1 tsp. cumin
14oz. can light coconut milk
Salt & pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
Wash & chop the asparagus, poblano, and zucchini and place all the veggies in a 9×13 pan. Drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast the veggies for about 20-30 minutes or until soft and tender.

image

Meanwhile in a large sauce pan warm a couple tsps of olive oil over low heat. Add the onions and garlic and cook until very tender. Add the water, fresh herbs, and cumin and let simmer for a couple of minutes.

image

Finally in the pitcher of a high speed blender combine the onion mixture, roasted veggies, and can of coconut milk.

image

Blend on high until the mixture is smooth and has a soup-like texture. Pour the soup back into the large sauce pan and heat through. Add salt and pepper to taste.

image

image

Serve steaming bowls of the creamy asparagus soup topped with a drizzle of plain yogurt & sprinkle of black pepper, or with a drizzle of olive oil and a shower of freshly grated romano cheese.

Provecho!

Liesl

Leave a Reply

