Jumpstart January – “The Workout”

For a jumpstart workout, I thought it was more than fitting that this workout would have a decent amount of “jumping” in it.???????????????????????????????

Plus, I know I’ve said it before, but plyometric moves like jumping jacks, jumping rope, burpees, lateral jumps, etc., are a fabulous way to get in some heart-healthy cardio without leaving your living room! And doing them HIIT style, creates some major all day calorie burn! High fives for quick, and effective home workouts! This particular workout I have modified several times to make it either more intense, a total body workout, a body weight only workout, and an outdoor workout…and you know what?  I have loved the after-burn of an awesome workout every.single.time.

The workout has two sequences which you will repeat. The first being a EMOM. Which is where you complete one exercise for the designated number of reps, every minute on the minute (EMOM) for the designated number of minutes.

For Example: Burpee EMOM – 10reps for 4 minutes.
Set your timer for 4 rounds of 1 minute each. When you start the timer complete 10 burpees as quickly as you can. Rest until the next minute begins. Complete another 10 burpees, and so on at the start of each 1 min interval. Make sense? Cool.

The second sequence is a full body strength circuit with four combination exercises. You will complete the exercises one after the other, and then move right into your next EMOM. Oh…and don’t give up to soon…I know some of you are starting fresh, or still getting the hang of your new fitness lifestyle…and I want to assure you, anyone can do burpees. Refer to this post for a starting point, and some progressions as you get stronger!

Okay, let’s get our schweat on!

image

Burpees – all about em’

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

 Kettlebell/Dumbbell Swings- here’s how
If doing the swings with dumbbells complete 10 with each arm.
**Beginners – Start with a light weight on these so you can practice the form. 

Weighted Jumping Lunges – Holding a light weight (5-10lbs) in both hands step forward into a lunge position. Then jump up switching your legs in the air like a scissor and land in a lunge position on the opposite leg. Keep going for the designated number of reps.
**Beginners- Try these first without weight. If you can’t do the jumping quite yet, do lunges walking forward, and then turn and come back to start.

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

 Squat & Press – Stand w/ feet hip width apart, and toes slightly turned out, holding two weights in line with your shoulders, palms facing inward. Pushing your booty back & keeping your chest up; squat down until your thighs are parallel to the floor. Using your glutes push back up to a stand and at the same time press the weights overhead until your arms are fully extended. Come back to start and repeat.
**Advanced – try these with HEAVY weights…push yourself.

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Dumbbell Plank Row – Get into a high plank position with your hands resting on dumbbells, and your feet spread about a foot apart. Keep your core tight, back straight, and booty down. Bring the weight on your left side up to your chest, with your elbow going up. Slowly lower back down to the floor and repeat on the other side.
**Advanced – complete a pushup each time you finish 2 rows (1/per side).

P1080111

No I didn’t change my outfit for every shot, it is quite the collage of old pics. 🙂
It is one of my goals this year to get better fitness pics for you guys, and figure even more efficient ways to share my workouts with you. Any tips, or suggestions are appreciated? What would make the workouts easier for YOU to follow?

Also, let me know if you try this workout, or any of my workouts, I’d love your feedback!

Are you following the Jumpstart January Workout Calendar? What is your biggest fitness goal for 2014?

Weekend!! Do something fun!

~ Liesl

6 thoughts on “Jumpstart January – “The Workout”

  1. Oh! My! Word! I thought you were trying to help me and not kill me! Lol. :-). I guess I have my work cut out for me. I was feeling like jelly and gasping after 30 burpees. Or sooner!

  2. It’s a tough workout! But I love it. Those burpees are awesome!
    I’m proud of you for trying it out and sticking with it. Oh and your 10K sounds awesome! Wish I was running with you.

    • K, so I’m going to conquer this workout one day…..in the meantime I’m modifying a couple things. 🙂 going to keep plugging away!!! Arley was all excited to join me doing it. Hey, if you ever have a second…a question….do you have another workout that would compliment this one well? Im doing two days a week and will try this for one of the days along with running three days.

      • Way to go…plugging away. Modifications are totally okay and the best way to progress in your strength and ability. So, high fives for what you are doing!
        As far as another workout: what I hear you saying is this? You would like to strength train two days a week with running three days.

        Here are my recommendations: One of your strength days: Jumpstart January Workout
        And since this workout does have intense cardio intervals with the burpees I would suggest something a little lower impact for your second strength training day. Yet you want something that is “total body” to keep building strength in your lower, upper body, and core. Does that sound right?
        Here’s a few recommendations from the blog:
        https://fitnessinthekitchen.wordpress.com/2013/07/05/friday-fit-focus-why-you-should-be-bodyweight-training-workouts/ (this is a completely body weight circuit workout, and is a great total body workout)
        https://fitnessinthekitchen.wordpress.com/2013/09/04/work-it-wednesday/ (this would also be a good one, but my take you longer to complete. If you don’t have much time you could take out two of the cardio intervals)
        https://fitnessinthekitchen.wordpress.com/2013/10/04/fit-focus-20-minute-interval-challenge/ (this one will only take you 20 minutes, but will hit the whole body)

        You could try one for your second strength day for a month, and then switch, or you could rotate between the 3 workouts every week. Whatever you think you would enjoy more!
        Let me know what you think!! Hope these work for you.

      • Awesome! That’s just what I’m looking for. Thank you for the recommendations. I’ll l you know how I like them and make sure to complain about how sore I am. Lol. Or maybe I should skip the complaining part…thank you, friend!

      • Awesome! Hope you love the workouts! And let me know how it goes.
        P.S. You are allowed to complain. Makes my workouts sound totally wicked. 🙂

Leave a Reply

