JSJ Challenge Check-in + Ab Ripper

Hey there! How’s the week treatin’ ya? I’ve been keeping busy with language study, working out, and spending time with my Nahuatl peeps. Since it’s Wednesday, I thought I’d check in with all the JSL 2014 Challengers to see how the Week 2 Challenge is going for you.imageWho’s loving 50 burpees a day? Not to mention some squats and pushups. 🙂

I for one am loving this week’s challenge. Moving everyday is awesome, and having a goal makes me get it done. Who’s with me? Up until this week my body was feeling like it was still in holiday mode…sleeping in, slacking on the workout front, and a few more dietary indulgences, but I think I’m finally over the hump.

How are you guys feeling this week? What has been your biggest challenge as far as getting back on track with your fitness and eats since the holidays?

Time for some up front honesty about getting back on track…I used to really love running. I ran 3 half marathons, and several other races, and lived for the training regimen and the “runners high.”???????????????????????

This is from 5 years ago when I was in the last 2 weeks of training for my 4th 1/2 marathon. My body was also ridden with colitis at the time, which I found out about 3 days after this pic was taken. Needless to say I didn’t run the race.

I would  say as of late I’ve fall out of love with my old flame…what can I say, I’m just loving on the quick effectiveness of HIIT workouts as of late. I still try to run 3 days a week, because I do love how it makes me feel, but it’s been hard to scrape myself out of bed when it’s cold and dark for an activity that I’m just “not so into” anymore.

But…I didn’t want to just throw out running, because I know that deep down I’m still a runner, I just need some inspiration. So, I’ve made myself a 10 week training plan for running a 10K. I don’t have a race scheduled, but I know with a plan I’ll be more likely to get back into running and start enjoying it again. I’m still only running 3 days a week, but with a goal in mind.  Also with my favorite workout partner beside me, the husband, it will be fun.Us 2Even though sometimes we get ridiculously and unnecessarily competitive when it comes to fitness.  Anyways, I’m looking forward to this fresh start with running.

Maybe you are in the same place with running or with fitness in general. I encourage you also to set new goals, try something new, find a workout buddy to help you achieve what you’d like to achieve, and have fun while you are at it. And if a fitness activity just isn’t fun anymore…find something new. If you aren’t doing something you love and look forward to you won’t stick with it, and that’s just a fact.

Here’s something new to try: 5 Minute Ab Ripper
Tack this little core gem on to the end of a cardio or circuit workout to really burn out your core. Or try it right before bed, or first thing when you wake up in the morning, before you hit the coffee. 🙂

1min. elbow plank hold   keeping your back straight, booty down, and core tight.
 Low plank
30 sec. up & down planks – 
walk up & down from high to low plank using your armsimage
30 sec. mountain climbers – in high plank bring your knees in to your chest quickly one at a time, like you are climbing a mountain
???????????????????????????????

1min. high plank hold – keep back straight, booty down, and core tight
High Plank
30 sec. knee to elbow (alternate sides) – in high plank bring your knee into your opposite elbow and back, then do the same on the other side
Twisting plank right
30 sec. T planks  – in high plank rotate your whole body left into a “T” position, then back to high plank, then to a “T” on the other side and back. Keep going.
High PlankHigh Side plank
1 min. elbow plank hold – straight back, tight core, and booty level.
Low plank

Let me know if you give it go, I’d love hear about it!
Also, who’s following the Jumpstart January Workout Calendar? How are the workouts treating you? 

See you Friday!
~ Liesl

Leave a Reply

