JSJ Challenge – Week 2 in Review + Week 3 Challenge

Hey everyone! Happy weekend to ya!

Things are looking on the up health wise over here. Pete and I are both feeling better, and right now I’m enjoying my second cup of coffee as I type.

???????????????????????????????

It’s been raining…again this whole weekend. I know I shouldn’t complain about 60s and rain, when my friends in the north and midwest are dealing with a ridiculously cold winter. Coldest in 18 years or something…so I heard. So, we really never have much of a winter around here, but that just means that now I crave soup when it’s 60 degrees out, and wear like 2 jackets. Yikes. Whatever will I do when I visit the real cold again.

Anyways, how’d Week 2 of JSJ Challenge go for you? Do you feel fitness-ly inspired? (is that even a word…doubt it) however, hopefully you realized how easy it is to move your body even for just a few minutes a day, doing some strength exercises.

This week was kind of a crap shoot for me, as my head-cold took me under for a few days. But I stuck with the challenge. Here’s what I did:

Sunday – 50 weight squats (as a burn out at the end of my workout)
Monday – 50 pushups (varied styles)
Tuesday – 50 squats
Wednesday – 50 burpees (EMOM style, 10 every minute on the minute for 5 minutes)
Thursday – 50 pushups, regular (I felt the worst this day)
Friday – 50 squats
Saturday – 50 burpees

Ready for Week 3?!!

There’s a little disclaimer for this week: it is going to be a little bit of work. Not physical work, but time consuming work. But, I know you can do it.
JSJ 2014 CHALLENGE – WEEK 3 (drum roll, please)

image

Yep, this week we are going to keep a food and fitness journal. I know, I know, groans a plenty, but hear me out for a second.
This is not a counting calories, fat, carbs, weight loss challenge. We will not be keeping a food and fitness journal so that we can restrict our calories, for a week, and say “Wow, I eat really healthy.” Because we all know in a real world our diets could use some work.

The point of this challenge is to go about our normal week, eating how we normally eat, and going about our fitness routines, but documenting along the way. Then at the end of the week, we can go back through our journal and see where we can do better. Get my drift?

I know personally I often lack in the protein department.

zucchini-salad-6.jpg

Mostly because I lean more towards a vegetarian style of eating and it’s harder to get the protein I believe my body needs based on my daily activity level. I know that I have to be very intentional if I want to meet my daily protein needs. Also, I’m sure that my diet lacks in a few other categories and I’d like to see where I can improve.

The fitness part of it is easy. Each day when you workout include with your food journaling what workout you did that day, how long it was, how intense it was, and how you felt after working out.

Now, there are a couple different options for Food & Fitness Journaling:

1. My Fitness Pal – myfitnesspal.com is an amazing place online where you can easily set up a personal profile, and document your eats, and fitness for the day. It is cool! Their food database literally has TONS of different foods, and you can even enter your own recipes in and get the nutritional information for them! This is usually where I go if I want to get the nutritional profile on anything that I make from scratch that I want to share with you guys.

2. In a Notebook – There are often times where it’s is impossible to put your info into the computer right away. With that said, keeping a notebook and pencil with you at all times helps, and sometimes I document my eats and fitness in both places to help me better keep track.

What I recommend: Documenting your eats and fitness throughout the day in a notebook, and then at the end of the day plugging everything into myfitnesspal.

Make sense?! It will take you a little bit of time and effort, but I promise what you will learn at the end of the week will be a wealth of information for you to take your healthy lifestyle to a whole new level.

Alright, let’s get to it! If you have any questions, or want more ideas on how to make this effective for you, contact me in the comments or through my email on the “about” page.

Have you every kept a food journal before? How did it help you?

Happy Journaling!!

~ Liesl

2 thoughts on “JSJ Challenge – Week 2 in Review + Week 3 Challenge

  1. So I was able to do more than one burpee with a push up (just needed to try it) and I already keep a food journal! I like this challenge, makes me feel like I’m doing things right!

    • Awesome! More than one with a pushup, see I knew you could! 🙂
      Way to go with the food journal, it is a really helpful tool, and I like keeping one as well from time to time when I feel like I’m sliding off track. Glad you are enjoying the challenge!

Leave a Reply

