Lemon & Fresh Herb Hummus

There’s a lot going on right now, with having a few house guests, and working on team projects.

So, I thought, I’d leave you with a little hummus recipe to spice up your snack routine! This hummus is super easy to make and tastes SO fresh. Spread it on a slice of homemade bread and stack veggies + a few slabs of tofu for a vegetarian sandwich, or eat with veggies, pita chips, or pretzels for a killer of a healthy snack.

Lemon & Fresh Herb Hummus

3 cups chickpeas, canned or fresh is fine (reserve about 6 Tbsp of bean water)
2 cloves garlic
1 Tbsp tahini (*a sesame seed paste found in health food stores)
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp Braggs liquid aminos (or low sodium soy or tamari sauce)
Juice of 1/2 a lemon
Handful of fresh herbs: I used chives, basil, and parsley – however feel free to use whatever herbs you may have on hand
Reserved bean water
Salt & pepper to taste

In the bowl of your food processor combine the chickpeas, garlic, tahini, olive oil, braggs, and lemon juice. Blend well.
Next add the handful of fresh herbs, no need for chopping just throw them in there, and blend.

image

image

Through the top shoot of your food processor add the bean water by tablespoonful until your hummus reaches desired consistency. Ideally I would have added probably another tablespoon of bean water, but I was in a hurry…so my hummus is a little thicker than I normally would like, but it still tastes amazing.

image

Finally, taste…add salt and pepper to your liking, or if you’d like your hummus with a little “kick” add a touch of cayenne.

Enjoy!!

Also, just wanted to check in and see how everyone was doing with Week 3 of the JSJ Challenge?

image

I’ve noticed that I’m lacking in the protein department…which I actually already was aware of. Also, I’d like my healthy fats to be riding side-car to my protein, meaning less consumption percentage-wise, but all in good time. 🙂

And I know it’s only Tuesday morning, so it’s a little early to tell for the week, but I am killing it in the fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, and Calcium departments! Who knew? Cool.
However, my potassium intake is a little lower than I’d like, and my iron could need some work, so I guess I need to start chowing some more leafy greens, which is one thing we seriously lack access to out here in the middle of nowhere.

Either way, I’m enjoying seeing how things add up, and can’t wait to make a full assessment for you guys on the weekend!!

Who’s been keeping a food and fitness journal? What have you learned about your eating habits so far? What workouts have you been loving this week?

Write me and let me know how it’s going!!
Also, if you are looking for a quick 30 minute bodyweight workout for today’s fitness, try this one!

Later,
~ Liesl

Leave a Reply

