JSJ 2014 Challenge – Week 3 in Review

Hey everybody! I feel like I’ve barely posted this week…which is true. Life just gets busy sometimes.
Whenever I have a house full it seems I’m in the kitchen, A LOT more, and trying to keep up with my weekly duties, keeping the house clean, and visiting with those that come by during the day. Which is quite often.

image

Yes, I still have my Christmas decorations up. 🙂

Don’t get me wrong, I love my life. I love being in the kitchen and cooking for others…especially those that are eager to try my experiments. Dairy free, vegan creamy pesto pasta with roasted eggplant and tomatoes? Don’t mind if I do. I think it was a hit with everyone.

image

It’s the weekend and now the house is quiet. It’s the two of us again, and it’s good. Hoping for some relaxation this weekend, we’ll see what happens. Without a doubt I know The Lord is always aware of my needs, and gives me the strength to handle what each day brings. So…as always, bring it on.

How was your week? How did Week 3 of the JSJ 2014 Challenge go for ya?

imageWas it hard to keep up with your food and fitness journal from day to day; did you love it/hate it? What did you learn?

While I don’t necessarily like to admit it, I like making lists, and organizing things. I know, I know…..with that said, I kind of loved keeping track of what I ate and my workouts. Plus it was very eye-opening for me to see where my diet is thriving and where it is lacking. Now I know what kind of changes I need to make.

I kept track of my daily eats on MyFitnesspal…which is awesome by the way, and here’s my weekly breakdown:

43% Carboyhydrates
36% Fat
21% Protein

I ate between 1,400- 1,600 calories, 50-60g of fat, 160-180g carbs, 75-80g protein, and about 30g of fiber per day; on average. Not bad, but there are always things to work on.

Observations:

1. Mindful protein consumption – While I eat a decent amount of protein during the day without even thinking…I don’t eat enough. For me to truly get the protein that I feel that my body needs I have to be “mindfully eating” if that makes sense. Thinking as I’m making a dish how much protein it is going to provide my body per healthy serving. Along with that comes mindful snacking. I’ve talked a bit about this before…not grabbing the first quick snack that I see, but rather preparing healthy, balanced, high protein snacks, that I love and that are easy to grab and go on a busy day. Like these raw chia bars.

image

I would like my protein consumption to be around the same percentage or higher than my fat, so I’ve got some work to do. Apparently I love me some healthy fats. Hello avocado, almond butter, and olive oil!

2. IRON! – I was severely lacking in iron throughout the week. I’ve had difficulties with iron deficiency before and need to figure out how to get more of it into my diet. Supplements are not an option for me, as they make me sick to my stomach…so this will be an area of investigation in the very near future. Any ideas out there for me?

3. Boost that potassium – Another shocker…I just figured my potassium consumption was a-okay, but apparently not. Who knew? The next coming months I’ll be looking to incorporate some higher potassium foods into my diet.

On a positive note: I was super excited to see that I’m getting plenty of Vitamin A, C, and calcium. Awesome! I may even quit my calcium supplement that I thought I needed. Holler for saving money!

On Fitness:
I don’t know if it was because I was documenting things or what…but I stuck to my fitness plan like glue this week. I won’t lie, I feel amazing. I feel energized and ready for another week of amazing workouts, healthy eats, and LIFE!

20131210-135216.jpg

Overall the food and fitness journaling was an incredible experiment and I learned a ton. I hope you did too.

Since this post is SO long I’m planning to post Week 4’s challenge tomorrow, so stay tuned!

How did Week 3 go for you? Did you enjoy keeping a food & fitness journal? What did you learn about your diet routine? What did you learn about your fitness? How did you feel overall?

Can’t wait to hear about it!

See you tomorrow!
~ Liesl

Leave a Reply

