Eats & Fitness – 1.26

Happy Sunday! What’s your day been like?

This morning my intention was to go for a nice 4.5 mile run. But, I slept in. 🙂

Have I ever mentioned that I live in the mountains, and to get to a “flat (it still isn’t flat)” place to run the husband and I hike up 3/4 mile, and about 1,000 feet, and then hike down when we are done. It’s a good warm up. Maybe I’ll get my run in a little later this afternoon…or hit the home gym for a sweat sesh.

So I was thinking about the JSJ Challenge, and how we’ve gone through 4 weeks of lifestyle challenges, which I hope for many of you inspired goals, aspirations, and lifestyle changes leading towards a healthier and happier you. I hope you learned things about yourself, and exceeded your own expectations, and most of all I hope the challenge left you wanting more from your days, your fitness routine, your diet, and your life.

20140103-131640.jpg

I know I loved writing the challenges, and I kind of want it to keep going. Lucky for me, January 2014 has 5 weeks! Woot!! So…I’m thinking one more challenge for those who are up for it! Are you in?

And…Week 5’s Challenge is:

image

Meal planning. I think you either love it or you hate it. There is no middle ground. But if you’ve never tried it, now is a great time to start.

There are several reasons why I love meal planning:

1. Saving money – If you have your meal plan ready it is so much easier to make a grocery list for the week of “just what you need” and stick to it.

2. Weekend prep – I usually sit down on Friday night or Saturday and meal plan for the upcoming week. Then on Sunday afternoon I can prep ahead of time as much of the week’s menu items as I want.

3. Keeping waste down – When I meal plan I organize the meals by what we have that needs to be used. Which really cuts down on the amount of food and leftovers we throw away.
For example: I had leftover brown rice in the fridge from last week. So I prepped the Chickpea masala burgers with brown rice, to use it up.

4. That “organized” feeling – I like going into my day knowing roughly how much time I’ll be spending in the kitchen. It helps me get more done in other areas of my life. Major yah for a clean house, efficient work hours, and time to get a good workout in.

Need some healthy snack ideas?

image
Lemon Herb Hummus w/ Veg

image
Raw Chia Seed Bars

20131208-183131.jpg
Gingerbread Power Bars

image
Smoothies

image
Fruit & Nuts

Also, check out my recipe page for more ideas!

Here’s an idea what my meal and fitness plan looks like for the week:

Meal Ideas:

Chickpea Masala Burgers (made a big batch and put some in the freezer)
Vegetarian Quinoa Chili
Beef Stir Fry
Roasted Veg & Grain Salad
Cauliflower Crusted Pizza – been wanting to try this for awhile.

Tentative Fitness Plan:

Monday – Strength – Total Body + HIIT
Tuesday – Run day – 4 miles
Wednesday – Strength Lower body + Plank Burner
Thursday – Run day – speedwork
Friday – Rest or yoga
Saturday – Jumpstart January Workout + Arm burner
Sunday – Run day – 5miles

Does meal planning scare you? Why or why not? Do you consider yourself and organized and efficient person? Why or why not?

See ya tomorrow with a easy weeknight supper recipe!

~ Liesl

2 thoughts on “Eats & Fitness – 1.26

  1. You should totally keep your challenges going. I’m enjoying them. We made your peanut butter balls as part of last weeks! Yum!! I did your jumpstart January workout again today and felt like a wet noodle for about an hour. :-). Nice!

Leave a Reply

