Sweet & Spicy Carrot Soup

It’s July…I know, I know. So why a soup recipe?

We’ve been having some rainy days here in the mountains, and the weather has been quite cool. I was craving something warm, thick, hearty, and tasty…plus I had a surplus of carrots that were starting to get a little “wiggly” if you know what I mean. 🙂 That’s how this soup was born.

Some of my favorite spices to cook with are in this soup. In my opinion the final product is quite delicious! I’ve been enjoying it fora quick lunch, but it would also make a delicious starter to a fancier holiday meal or get-together.

Sweet & Spicy Carrot Soup – serves about 4

1 1/2 lbs. whole carrots, peeled and chopped into about 1 inch pieces
1 large onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, chopped fine
1 Tbsp. extra virgin coconut oil
4 c. vegetable broth + 1 cup water
1 tsp. smoked paprika
1 tsp. cumin
1 tsp. coriander
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. turmeric
1/4 tsp. fresh ground black pepper
Dash of cayenne (I put in around 1/4 – 1/2 tsp because I like it spicey-wicey.

Heat the coconut oil in a large pot or dutch oven over medium heat. Dice the onion and garlic and add to the hot pan. Sauté until tender about 5-6 min. Add the spices, stir, and let cook another minute or so until fragrant.

 ???????????????????????????????

Next add the chopped and peeled carrot segments and broth.

 ???????????????????????????????

Bring to a boil. Turn down the heat and let simmer, covered until carrots are tender, around 30 -40 minutes.

???????????????????????????????

Let cool about 10 minute and with an immersion blender slowly blend the soup mixture until it is smooth. You can also use a regular blender, but please be careful. I use a regular blender and I will take the middle piece out of the lid, and working in small batches placing a piece of paper towel over the open space and blending slowly. If you blend too much hot soup at a time and there is no ventilation you could have a messy, hot, explosion all over your kitchen. Not fun.

At this point I added 1 cup of water to thin the soup a bit and then reheated a little before serving.

Serve hot with a scoop of plain greek yogurt and toasted pumpkin seeds on top! Yum!

 Photo courtesy of The Dusty Baker

The soup was gone before I was able to take a picture of the finished product. This is a close replica.

What is your all time favorite soup? Do you make soup in the summer, or only in the colder weather months?

~ Liesl

1 thought on “Sweet & Spicy Carrot Soup

  1. Hi Liesl! I love your blog and how you’re sharing where you are and what you’re doing! Sorry for contacting you via the comments, but I couldn’t see how else to reach you. I’m flattered you’re using my photo in your post, but could you please put my blog name (The Dusty Baker) and a link to it within the body, not just as “source”. I know it’s a messy blogging sphere but photos are sorta the property of their owners and should be granted permission for use. I have no problem with your using mine if the credit is below the photo. Thanks! And I added your blog to my BlogLovin feed so that you’re now on their site! Cheers from my temporary home in Ohio!

Leave a comment