Creamy Tahini Salad Dressing ~ 3 Ways

Growing up I was never a ranch dressing fan. Actually now that I think about it, my Mom hardly ever bought ranch dressing, so the only exposure I had to it was at friends homes, or out to eat at restaurants. And lets just say, French had my heart. Ugh, nasty…what was I thinking. Do you have Red 40? Sure I’ll take some of that.

Now, that I’m all “grown up” I stick mostly with a tasty balsamic vinegar and a drizzle of olive oil. However, on occasion I get a taste for a creamy dressing and some salads just call for something with a little more substance. Plus homemade dressing is SO easy to make, and not full of sugars and artificial ingredients.

???????????????????????????????

For today’s dressing –
The star ingredient: Tahini
What is it: Tahini is a ground sesame paste that is similar to a nut butter. It is creamy and oily and very rich in calcium.

This is my “go to” creamy, homemade dressing made 3 different ways for variety. Try one of them, or create your own! Happy salad making!

Creamy Tahini Dressing – 3 ways
(makes about 1/2 cup of dressing, store leftovers in the refrigerator)

Earthy & Sweet

2 Tbsp. tahini
1 Tbsp. almond oil
2 Tbsp. red wine vinegar
2 Tbsp. plain yogurt
1 tsp. horseradish mustard
2 tsp. agave syrup
1/2 tsp. granulated garlic
Salt & pepper to taste

Mix all the ingredients together in a small glass jar. Add water at the end until you achieve your desired consistency.

Taste of Asia

2 Tbsp. tahini
1 Tbsp. sesame oil
1Tbsp. brown rice vinegar
1 Tbsp. braggs liquid aminos, or tamari
2 Tbsp. plain yogurt
1 tsp. spicy mustard
2 tsp. raw honey
1/2 tsp. granulated garlic
Dash of cayenne
Salt and Pepper to taste

*Follow the instructions above.

Tangy & Sweet – my favorite!

2 Tbsp. tahini
1 Tbsp. olive oil
1 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar
1 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar
2 Tbsp. plain yogurt
1 tsp. dijon mustard
1 tsp. maple syrup
1/2 tsp. granulated garlic
Salt and pepper to taste

*Follow the instructions above.

???????????????????????????????

Tips –
*Once the dressing sits in the fridge you will have to add more water to it the next time you want to use it. Start with a tablespoon, until it reaches dressing consistency again.
* The thicker version makes a fantastic veggie dip, or sandwich spread…just sayin.’

Questions of the day –
What is your favorite way to use tahini? What is your “go to” salad dressing?

Cheers to a great week!

~ Liesl

1 thought on “Creamy Tahini Salad Dressing ~ 3 Ways

  1. I only ever use Tahini to make Hummus, so I have a jar of it just sitting there for the rare occasion that I go off Paleo & have Hummus. Can’t wait to try these… yummm

Leave a comment